TechWhirl (TECHWR-L) is a resource for technical writing and technical communications professionals of all experience levels and in all industries to share their experiences and acquire information.
For two decades, technical communicators have turned to TechWhirl to ask and answer questions about the always-changing world of technical communications, such as tools, skills, career paths, methodologies, and emerging industries. The TechWhirl Archives and magazine, created for, by and about technical writers, offer a wealth of knowledge to everyone with an interest in any aspect of technical communications.
We have been having the same problems with RH2000. It's rather distressing
to go through
all the procedures of saving and have that "save prompt" appear when closing
a help project.
My department has also had problems with RH overwriting the doc files in a
project. This only happened to me once - when that save prompt appeared and
I clicked the Yes
to all button. RH overwrote both the doc file and .rtf file with machine
code. I had to resort to my back up of the project in order to recover the
overwritten doc file. Basically it meant all the work I had completed that
day (of course this occurred right before 5 pm) was lost. From this
experience I've learned to click the No to all button when the save prompt
appears. Other members of my department have had doc files overwritten with
other doc file information within the same help project when they compile
We've been in contact with e-help on this but have not been too helpful yet.
Last I heard, e-help suggested that our naming conventions for our help
projects are causing the problems, but the support rep really didn't know.
Anybody else out there have this problem?
Dexter, MI 48130