Nominations for Gould Award

Subject: Nominations for Gould Award
From: Dean Fontenot <gjdhf -at- TTACS -dot- TTU -dot- EDU>
Date: Wed, 27 Aug 1997 10:22:38 +0000

***********PLEASE EXCUSE CROSS-POSTINGS****************

Nominations for 1998 Jay R. Gould Award Sought

The Jay R. Gould Award honors the distinguished
teaching career of Professor Gould whose academic
mentorship of technical communication students guided
many men and women into our profession.

The award honors excellence in teaching that becomes
true academic mentorship: the personal and professional
concern that an excellent teacher extends to a student
beyond the demands of the classroom, beyond, even, the
student's graduation and into that former student's
professional career.

The 1997 recipients of the Jay R. Gould Award were Sandra Harner of
Cedarville College in Ohio, Katherine Staples of Austin Community
College in Texas, and Thomas Warren of Oklahoma State University

To be eligible for the award, a nominee must have been a member of the
Society for Technical Communication for ten years and must have been
involved in post-secondary education for at least fifteen years.
Nominees who have received other STC recognition (such as Associate
Fellow or Fellow or a President's Award) and still be eligible for the
Gould Award. Current STC Board Members and members of the nominating
committee are not eligible.

If you are not certain about the eligibility of your nominee, go ahead
and make the nomination. The committee manager will check
eligibility. If appropriate, the committee manager will then contact
the nominee to ask where they or not the nominee wishes to continue
with the award process.

Any STC member may recommend one or more candidates for this award by
sending nomination(s) before September 30, 1997, to:

Scott P. Sanders
Dept of English Language and Literature
University of New Mexico
Albuquerque, NM 87131
(505) 277-6347
(505) 277-5573 (fax)
ssanders -at- unm -dot- edu

Nominations may also be sent in care of the STC Administrative Office
at the addresses listed below:

Jay R. Gould Award Manager, c/o STC
901 N. Stuart Street, Suite 904
Arlington, VA 22203-1854
(703) 522-2075 (fax)
stc -at- stc-va -dot- org

Dean Fontenot
gjdhf -at- ttacs -dot- ttu -dot- edu
College of Engineering
P.O. Box 43103
Texas Tech University
Lubbock, TX 79409
Phone: (806)742-3451
Fax: (806)742-3493

TECHWR-L (Technical Communication) List Information: To send a message
to 2500+ readers, e-mail to TECHWR-L -at- LISTSERV -dot- OKSTATE -dot- EDU -dot- Send commands
Search the archives at or search and
browse the archives at

Previous by Author: Technical Writer Positions in Sarasota, Florida
Next by Author: Re: Humor: convoluted manual-ese
Previous by Thread: Re: Skills Needed For Web Design
Next by Thread: Re: Nominations for Gould Award

What this post helpful? Share it with friends and colleagues:

Sponsored Ads

Sponsored Ads